Is the health risk worth a better quality of life?

In the midst of this coronavirus pandemic, I have to wonder if a lot of patients are feeling like me..so, after not blogging for over a year, I’m back. I think.

Since last fall, I’ve known that I should consider adding another medication to Rituxan, to treat my RA. But over the past few months, I *know* my body needs help.

How do I know?

  • Managing my pain has become an all day, every day job
  • I find my disease dictating my life more and more
  • I’m running a low grade temp every single day without a break, even with medication

With all of these reasons, I’m still not sure if I’m going to reach out to my rheumatologist. Why? Coronavirus.

With multiple autoimmune diseases, my immune system is already compromised. I’m lucky enough to telework for a hospital but my husband still has to go to his job amongst the public.

Adding another medication to suppress my immune system doesn’t sound like the brightest idea. I’m left with this question and wonder if any of you are too:

Is the health risk worth a better quality of life?

Leave a comment